Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Sage honors outstanding student-athlete performances at year end banquet

Sage honors outstanding student-athlete performances at year end banquet

Link to Event Photo Album

Albany, NY—The Sage College's department of athletics gathered to recognize and honor the outstanding performances of the 2017-2018 year with the naming of the athletic award winners for the 15 varsity athletic teams. In addition to awarding the Gator Award, for the Most Outstanding Player, the department also named the 2017-2018 Female and Male Athletes of the Year as well as the Dean Sharon Robinson Senior Male and Female Scholar-Athletes of the Year, which is given to the senior student-athlete with the highest overall grade point average, as well as the Aggie Stillman Perseverance Award.

In her nearly forty year career at Sage, Aggie was a friend, mentor, professor, class advisor, and the Gators' biggest fan.  She radiated pride and enthusiasm in everything she did, while embodying the Sage spirit of patience and perseverance against any and all odds. In her honor, Sage bestows The Aggie Stillman Perseverance Award to the person affiliated with Sage Athletics that best exemplifies those traits which made Aggie so special. Aggie waged a personal battle with cancer for over 20 years finally succumbing to the disease on May 13, 2008. 

Sage selected junior men's soccer player River Seybolt (Selden, NY/Longwood) as the Male Athlete of the Year, while senior women's basketball player Genevieve Schoff (Little Falls, NY/Little Falls) and senior softball player Alexa Silk (Freehold, NY/Greenville) shared Female Athlete of the Year honors.

Men's soccer player Kevin Saar (Binghamton, NY/Windsor Central) and men's track and field performer senior Zach Bishop (Hudson Falls, NY/Hudson Falls) were named co-recipients of the Male Dean Sharon Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award recipient. Earning the Dean Sharon Robinson Senior Female Scholar-Athlete Award was Alexa Silk.

Women's volleyball player sophomore Caitlin Class (Waterford, NY/Waterford Halfmoon) was selected as the recipient of the Aggie Stillman Perseverance Award for her personal triumphs in the wake of both physical and emotional traumas this past year.

Additionally Sage selected the Fan of the Year, which was bestowed to Eric Saar (Binghamton, NY), father of men's soccer player Kevin Saar. Over the course of his time as a Sage parent, Eric assisted with creating senior day prints, shooting pictures of athletic contests and was a devoted fan of both the men's soccer team, but also the women's soccer teams extending his services to assist with team photos and head shots for the teams.

Sage also awarded the Gator of the Year to members of the varsity teams, often awarded to the team's most valuable player, the Gators of the Year status was bestowed to the following individuals in these sports:

Men's Golf, freshman Blake Pritchard (Malone, NY/Franklin Academy)

Men's Cross Country, junior Jarryd Wick (Ayers, MA/E.F. Parker School)
Women's Cross Country, junior Sagan Leggett (Valatie, NY/Ichabod Crane)

Women's Soccer, sophomore Giovanna Fichera (Cornwall, NY/Cornwall Central)

Women's Tennis, sophomore Sammantha Montague (Glenville, NY/Scotia-Glenville)

Women's Volleyball, senior Alyssa Nellis (Johnstown, NY/Johnstown)

Men's Soccer, junior Ryan Fairweather (Middletown, NY/Minisink Valley)
Women's Basketball, junior Macie Holms (Amsterdam, NY/Mekeel Christian)

Men's Basketball, senior Barceem Dukes (Gloversville, NY/Gloversville)

Men's Volleyball, senior Ryan Guyton (Lockport, NY/Lockport)

Women's Lacrosse, sophomore Brittany Gage (Pine Bush, NY/Pine Bush)

Men's Tennis, junior Henry Golden (Troy, NY/Troy)

Softball, senior Alexa Silk (Freehold, NY/Greenville)

Men's Outdoor Track and Field, freshman Ellis Richardson (Hudson, NY/Hudson)

Women's Outdoor Track and Field, freshman Heather Dilcher (Colonie, NY/Colonie Central)


The Sage College's Intercollegiate Athletic Honor Society recognizes junior, senior, or graduate level student-athletes, who have maintained a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.3 or better and have participated as a member of a varsity team for at least two seasons.


Below is a list of the individuals named to the Honor Society at this year's banquet:


Ellen Abbott                      

Zaheer Ahmad                 

Allison Bardwell               

Zachary Bishop                 

Kaitlyn Bowman                              

Samantha Dibbell            

Kiersten Duncan              

Ryan Fairweather           

Shannon Farrell*

Casey Fitzpatrick*           

James Fitzpatrick

Alyssa Lepper

Sagan Leggett   

Ariannah Logan

Jordyn Logan

Savannah Mason *         

Alyssa Nellis*    

Emily Parslow   

Keeley Paull      

Katy Rimawi *   

Kevin Saar*       

Missy Schneiderman*  

Gen Schoff*      

Alexa Silk*         

Torri Sperl          

Madison Spohr

Amelia Taylor

Lindsey Tolman*

Samantha Trimblett       

Anthony Williamson*                                    


*Indicates Previous Inductee


Sage falls twice at Utica
April 28, 2018 Sage falls twice at Utica
Gators fall to Elms, 3-2
January 31, 2018 Gators fall to Elms, 3-2
Orminski honored by Empire 8
November 7, 2017 Orminski honored by Empire 8
Sage splits on Senior Day
October 21, 2017 Sage splits on Senior Day
Sage falls to SUNY-IT, 3-1
October 18, 2017 Sage falls to SUNY-IT, 3-1
Wick Takes 20th at GMC Race
October 14, 2017 Wick Takes 20th at GMC Race
Sage offense halted by Raptors
September 6, 2017 Sage offense halted by Raptors