Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Flower posts another win as she takes home Oneonta Airfield Invitational Championship

Flower posts another win as she takes home Oneonta Airfield Invitational Championship


Oneonta, NY— The Sage Colleges' women's cross country program travelled to Oneonta on Saturday to run at the Oneonta State Airfield Invitational at Fortin Park. Sage's women's team was led by the efforts of sophomore Kerry Flower (Schenecactady, NY/Schalmont) as she won her second straight medalist finish with a blistering time of 18:59.7 for the 5 k course. She helped the Sage women's team to a second place finish in a field of four teams, taking second to Oneonta State which had a score of 29 points to Sage's 41 points.

Flower won the women's 5 k race bettering the 48-runner field with a time of 18:59.7 ahead of the second place finisher from Oneonta State, Ella Dephillips, who was second in 19:48.8, almost one minute slower than Flower. Flower is the two-time Empire 8 Runner of the Week and will once again vie for the honor this week.

Sophomore Kristin McAlonen (Burnt Hills, NY/Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake) was the next Sage finisher in sixth with a time of 20:34.6, just ahead of senior team captain Amanda Jones (West Sand Lake, NY/Columbia). Jones took seventh in 20:35.3.

Rookie Evelyn Gile (Ballston Lake, NY/Shenendehowa) picked up ninth with her time of 20:41.5, while newcomer Molly Kane (Rensselaer, NY/Columbia) picked up 18th in 21:49.0.  Junior Sophia Keravich (Barrington, NH/Oyster River) finished in 23rd in 22:40.4 and senior Payton Seever (Grain Valley, MO/St. Theresa's Academy) picked up 27th 25:03.8. Sophomore Giannah French (Cherry Plain, NY/Berlin) took home 40th 26:12.4. to help the Gators to the impressive team and individual race showings.

Sage will be back in action on October 5 competing at the Mt. St. Mary College Invitational.  

Clobridge Saluted by Empire 8
September 30, 2019 Clobridge Saluted by Empire 8
Flower runs to 3rd E8 Award
September 16, 2019 Flower runs to 3rd E8 Award