Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Basketball History

  • Program started: JCA—2003,   SAGE-- 2009-2010 to present.
  • First coach of program: Howie Smith (1978-1982), Bill Toomey (1982-1990, .634), Mike Long (1990-2003, .610), Brian Barnes (2009-present)
  • Top Seasons
    • 2001-02 (Mike Long) went 27-4 (.871%)—highest season winning percentage to date. JCS coach from 1990-2003 (13 seasons)
    • Brian Barnes (here since 2009-2010 season—first coach after Sage merge)
      • 2014-2015 season most successful in program history
        • first Skyline Conference championship, first NCAA bid, undefeated at home, most wins in a season (23), most Skyline wins (15), longest win streak (11); 
        • Barnes was NABA Atlantic Region Coach of the Year; Skyline Coach of the Year, ECAC Coach of the Year
        • Senior captain Kai Deans named 2015 NABC All-America Third Team, first All-American in Sage history.

  • Notable players
    • Kai Deans: Sage Male Athlete of the Year (2014-15); Men’s Basketball Gator of the Year (2014-15) Named to NABC All-America Third Team, Skyline Conference Player of the Year, selection to ECAC Metro and D3Hoops Atlantic Region and NABC Atlantic Region First Team (2014-’15). Holds record for most points in a game record w/33 (1/31/15 vs. College of Mt. St. Vincent).
    • Travis Gill: Skyline Conference Defensive Player of the Year (2014-15).
    • Andrew Robinson: Skyline Conference First Team, Skyline Conference Most Outstanding Player (2014-2015); #1 in single-game 3 pt record w/ 14 made 3-pointers (2014-2015).
    • Matt Farbotko: program’s 1st 1,000 point scorer (2009-13), Skyline Rookie of the Year, (2009-2010).
    • Mason Horne: Skyline Conference All-Star Second Team selection (2012-2013), program’s leading scorer (1,258 points) 2009-14).
    • Jeff Stopera: (2009-14) Set records for most career assists (567), steals (234), and games played (110); Skyline All-Star Second Team selection (2013-2014), Skyline Sportsmanship recipient 2014.
    • James Taylor: Hall of Fame Member—inducted ’10, JCA player ’87-’89, #1 in most blocked shots in a season (66), holds records in most career points, most career rebounds.
    • Chad Thomas: Hall of Fame Member—inducted 2010, JCA player 1993-95, #1 in career points scored (1,229), #1 in most career steals (230), #1 in most points scored in a season, #1 in highest scoring average in a season, #1 in most steals in a season and a game.
    • Rafael Salazar: Hall of Fame Member—inducted 2013, JCA player 1992-94, #2 in most career steals, record holder in steals and rebound in a single season, team MVP (1992-1994).
    • Sam Greco Jr: Hall of Fame Member—inducted 2015, JCA player 1962-64, team MVP (1964), team captain, team’s leading scorer in 1963-’64 season.
    • Dwayne Barnes: Hall of Fame Member—inducted 2015, JCA player 1997-99, #3 in most points scored in a single season, #3 in highest scoring average in a single season, First-Team All Region (1999), team MVP (1999).

      Sage All-Time Skyline Conference Honorees

2015-2016     Travis Gill, Defensive Player of the Year

                     Melvin Ford, First Team, F

                     Andre Robinson, Second Team, G

2014-2015     Kai Deans, First Team, F/C, Skyline Player of the Year

                    Travis Gill, Defensive Player of the Year

                    Andre Robinson, First Team, G, Skyline Tournament, Most Outstanding Player

                    Brian Barnes, Skyline Conference Coach of the Year

2013-2014     Jeff Stopera, Second Team, G

2012-2013     Mason Horne, Second Team, F

2009-2010     Matt Farbotko, Skyline Rookie of the Year